Friends of Oxley Creek Common Annual General Meeting - Minutes

Sunday 26 May 2024 Started at 10:00 am

Location: The Red Shed, Oxley Creek Common

Present: Karen Gillow, Hugh Possingham, Carmel Mendel, Simon Murray, Mary Lou Simpson, Matthew Mendel, Robyn Mulder, Trevor Armstrong, Cath Tavatgis, Rob Hollingworth, Dianne Reynolds.

Apologies: Lynn Whitfield, Zena Dinesen

Presidents opening address and report

Hugh acknowledging the Turrbal and Yuggera peoples as traditional owners and their custodianship of the land on which we met.

Hugh acknowledged that the minutes of the 2023 AGM had been distributed and asked the floor if there were any questions or objections. There were none and Hugh moved that they be accepted. This was seconded by Cath Tavatgis. Passed unanimously.

Hugh noted that the accounts were in a very good state, >\$8,000 of assets, and thanked Mat Mendel for that. He also confirmed that there were no immediate development threats to the Common, other than the ongoing weed and water management issues.

That said, we are in a holding pattern as we wait for the state government to transfer the land to Brisbane City Council. We have been waiting for 20 years for this transfer of land that will enable the Oxley Creek Bird Sanctuary to start developing, in the meantime we progress with minor improvements.

Tuesday Common Carers have been doing a fantastic job, as can be seen in the report on their activities provided by Mary Lou. Hugh commended Mary Lou on coordinating a remarkable and productive team.

Hugh also noted that FOOCC's ongoing relationship with both OCCA and the Corinda State High School (Tom Bates) was very good, all working in partnership.

Lastly, he thanks the entire committee for their ongoing contributions and steadfast support.

Secretary's report

- Future meeting dates were at 10:00am:
 - Sunday, 25 August 2024
 - Sunday, 24 November 2024
 - o Sunday, 23 February 2025
 - Sunday, 25 May 2025 (AGM) all accepted.

All agreed these were suitable.

Karen confirmed that she would not be standing for the position of Secretary again after 6 years in the role. She confirmed that she was happy to continue looking after the FOOCC website, but would relinquish all other responsibilities currently held by the FOOCC Secretary.

On behalf of the committee, Hugh thanked Karen for her contributions. Several members noted that the quality and timeliness of her work was exceptional.

Treasurer's report

Current bank balance is \$8,126.18. Only upcoming costs known about were: a tree popper to remove large woody weeds and the fee for annual return (due to the ATO within one month of the AGM). Both of these were well within the available funds. No other major expenses were expected.

There are currently: 48 current financial members, broken down in to 7×1 year memberships, 37×5 year memberships, and 4×1 life members. Simon Murray moved that the Treasurer's report be accepted and that was seconded by Trevor Armstrong.

Nominations and election of office bearers and committee

Outgoing President (Hugh Possingham) vacated the position of Chair of the meeting, with Rob Hollingworth assuming the Chairs position for the election of office bearers and committee members.

Office bearer nominations:

- President Hugh Possingham, nominated by Trevor Armstrong, seconded by Cath Tavatgis.
- Treasurer Mat Mendel, nominated by Karen Gillow, seconded by Robyn Mulder
- Secretary current secretary not re-nominating, Robyn Mulder was nominated by Hugh Possingham and was seconded by Mary Lou Simpson

Other committee positions:

- Assistant Secretary Zena Dinesen (Zena confirmed she would continue this prior to the meeting)
- Newsletter editor Mary Lou Simpson confirmed she would continue in this role
- Tuesday Common Carer coordinator Mary Lou Simpson confirmed she would also continue in this role.
- Web site coordinator Karen Gillow, volunteered.
- Social media Cath Tavatgis confirmed she would continue in this role
- Peaks to Points, Family Day contact person Simon Murray confirmed he would continue in this role.

Other general committee members confirmed: Lynn Whitfield, Trevor Armstrong and Rob Hollingworth.

All elected unopposed and unanimously.

AGM Closed at 10:20am